Members                                                                                                                                     Home  |   Background | Trustees & Governance Roles

List of Directors/Members

 Mercy Care South is governed by a board of non-executive directors all of whom are also members of the company.

 All the Directors/Members of Mercy Care South give their time voluntarily and do not receive any remuneration.

  •  Margaret Lane, Chairperson
  • Margaret Lane is an Accountant with 40 years of experience in the public and commercial semi-state sectors. In addition to several senior financial and management accounting roles she held the roles of Risk Manager and various HR roles, including HR Director, during her 25 years with Bord Gais Eireann and Ervia. In addition to serving on the board of a number of Mercy companies and the Board of Governors of University College Cork she is Chair of the Audit Committee of the Ombudsman, and a member of the Audit Committee of a number of public sector bodies, and company secretary of Cork Opera House.. She is an Executive coach with Praesta and holds an MBA from UCC and a Certificate in Coaching from Henley College/Reading University

  •  Michael O'Sullivan, Vice Chairman
  • Michael O’Sullivan is a Civil Engineer, Chartered Management Accountant and holds an MBA from UCC. He has significant board experience in both executive and non-executive roles in finance, regulation, business planning focussed on the Energy and Healthcare sectors. These include Board Chair and Audit and Risk Committee Chair roles in both the private sector and in public bodies. Michael is a member of the Institute of Directors and is a current board member and former chair of the Mercy University Hospital.

  • Monsignor Gearoid Dullea, Appointed by the Bishop of Cork and Ross 
  • Monsignor Gearóid Dullea is a priest of Cork and Ross diocese. He was ordained in 1999 and has worked in Blackrock parish, as well as the chaplaincy at Cork University Hospital. He is currently the Executive Secretary of the Irish Episcopal Conference. He was appointed to the board of Mercy Care South by the Bishop of Cork and Ross. 

  •  Tim McCarthy
    Tim McCarthy  worked for 36 years in banking and finance. He subsequently lectured in government and public policy in University College Cork. In addition to qualifications in accounting and finance he has a B.Sc. in government and public policy and a Ph.D. in political science. He has served on a number of Mercy company boards
  • Jerry Flynn
  • Jerry Flynn is a former Managing Director of Sony Pictures, Chairman of the International Federation against Copyright Theft, Commercial Director of MSE (DCC company), Commercial Director of Cloud Cards Avation. He previously served as Chairman of Mercy University Hospital Foundation

  •  Dr. Anne Francis
  • Dr Anne Francis  is a member of the Pastoral Care Team at Marymount University Hospital and Hospice. She has worked in pastoral ministry and theology for over thirty-five years in Ireland and the UK. Anne delivers Pastoral Theology programmes at St Patrick's College, Maynooth, and is Visiting Lecturer and Supervisor at the Margaret Beaufort Institute of Theology, Cambridge. She supports colleagues in her Pastoral Supervision practice.

  •  Sr. Coirle McCarthy, Appointed by the Sisters of Mercy, Southern Province 
  • Sr. Coirle McCarthy is a graduate of Mater Dei Institute of Education and was for many years involved in Religious Education at second level before being appointed as Diocesan Advisor for Religious Education for the diocese of Cork & Ross. She also has a background in Healthcare. In 1995 Sr. Coirle was elected to the Provincial Leadership Team in the Southern Province of the Sisters of Mercy and subsequently became leader of the International Congregation of the Sisters of Mercy. Currently she is involved in Leadership in her native Cork while also serving on the Governing Body of Mary Immaculate College, Limerick and Mercy University Hospital Foundation Cork. She was appointed to the Board of Mercy Care South by the Provincial Leader, Southern Province of the Sisters of Mercy.
  • Des Murphy
    Des Murphy is a Quantity Surveyor in private practice. He previously served as Chair of the Board of Governors of Mercy University Hospital. Under his Chairmanship the Hospital Management Board was formed and the Mercy University Hospital Foundation was established, and the Irish Distillers site was purchased jointly with University College Cork. He also coordinated celebrations of the 150th anniversary celebrations of the Hospital. He has also served on the board for the Reconfiguration of Hospital Services.
  •  Sr. Pat O’Donovan, Appointed by the Sisters of Mercy, Southern Provence
    Sr. Pat O’Donovan, D. Min., M. Div., MA Spirituality, MA Ethics. Former Chaplain and Pastoral Educator at Advocate Healthcare in Chicago, and later at the University of Chicago Hospitals and Medical Centre; Director of Clinical Pastoral Education at Roper-St. Francis Healthcare in Charleston, SC, USA and subsequently at St. Vincent’s University Hospital Dublin; Currently a member of the Healthcare Chaplaincy Board, and also serves on the Canonical and Company Boards of St. John of God Hospitaller Services. She was appointed to the Board of Mercy Care South by the Provincial Leader, Southern Province of the Sisters of Mercy. 
  • Professor Fergus Shanahan
  • Fergus Shanahan is Professor Emeritus and former Chair, Department of Medicine at University College Cork (UCC), National University of Ireland. Dr. Shanahan was the foundation director of the APC Microbiome Institute 2003-2019 (now known as APC Microbiome Ireland). He previously served on the board of Mercy University Hospital
  • Irene O'Donovan 
  • Irene is a Partner with O'Flynn Exhams, where her primary focus is Corporate/Commercial Law, with particular expertise in advising energy and natural resource companies on mergers, acquisitions and disposals, joint ventures, stock exchange listings, financings and regulatory affairs. Irene is a graduate of UCC and is a current Board Member and Chairperson of the Clinical Ethics Committee of Mercy University Hospital.